top of page

OM-SYSTEM 35-80mm F2.8 ED

Zoom lenses? Most of the time when people talk about Olympus OM lenses, they automatically think about the F2 or F2.8 primes. Common examples are the 24mm F2/2.8, 28mm F2/2.8, 35mm F2, the 85mm F2 and the 135mm F2.8. If you are a bit of a Zuikoholic, you will most probably think about the 21mm F2, 40mm F2, 50mm F1.2, 55mm F1.2, 90mm F2 and the 100mm F2. If you are a super Zuikoholic, rich and lucky enough, you will probably keep the white trio, the 180mm F2, 250mm F2 and the 350mm F2. So with that many lenses, still not a single zoom.

Zuiko zooms aren't getting much attention, probably because they are not really that good (I haven't tried them because I am just an entry level Zuikoholic). BUT, there's one that's sought after by collectors and the real Zuikoholics who appreciate it and see it as a gem.

That's the 35-80mm F2.8 ED.

This is one superb zoom lens. Usually zoom lenses aren't as sharp as prime lenses but this lens is a prime lens killer.

F2.8 maximum aperture throughout the whole range from 35mm to 80mm, though I wish it would be an F2.

It's a hell of a beast, weighing 650g, 16 elements in 14 groups. Closes focusing at 0.6m and takes a 62mm filter.

It's sharp, I mean very sharp. At 35mm, it beats OM's 35mm F2 (which in my opinion is not worth getting and that's why I sold mine).

This zoom can be very sharp provided that you have very steady hands.

So, why is this lens so special? Some people call it the final glory of the OM system. Probably it's because it came as a bundled lens with the legendary film SLR OM3Ti. I have no official record (and I guess even Olympus doesn't have it because every time I ask them about production numbers they say they have no idea). Some say, around 3000 bundled sets were sold back in the 90s, so let's assume there are 3000 units of this lens out there.

Over the years, I slowly collected the prime lenses that I wanted and was still missing this lens. Finally I got my first copy through a local camera store. It was in a pretty minty condition except that the hood wasn't included.

OM hoods are readily available on eBay but for this particular lens, it's not an easy task to get the original hood. It may be even harder to get it than getting the lens itself.

So I searched for the hood but I couldn't locate one. Then I waited and got an OM3Ti to match with the lens.

That's already a dream setup to me so I told myself, I don't always use the hood so I don't need one.

Then I saw one on eBay asking for 150USD. Holy crap, that's a lot for a hood so I hesitated. (of course then I learned that a Leica lens hood can cost like 1500USD or even more so it's actually nothing)

Then I saw another copy of the lens that came with the hood! So I got it from the user.

Sadly, the lens' focusing ring was a bit stiff and I didn't want to send the lens for a CLA. The user was so nice that he fully refunded me (one of the nicest sellers). I asked him if he could sell me just the hood but he refused. However, he showed me a lead for the hood and this time it was only 10USD!! Of course I sealed the deal and surprisingly it came in a pretty minty condition. I guess the seller had no idea about the rarity of the lens or the hood.

Finally, I got a complete set. OM3Ti with 35-80mm F2.8 ED and hood.

It's the only Zuiko zoom that I have and if you can only keep one Zuiko, this should be a good choice. I can't because I love many of my Zuikos. XDDD.

I now own two copies of this lens, the second copy came from the same camera store and with hood as well.

Usually the ones you can find on the market, they are minty. There were not many of these available 5-6 years ago but now a few are listed on eBay, some with barrel paint loss and minor scratches. If you intended to get one, go for a nice clean one. The boxed ones are ridiculously priced, it's like paying 2 lenses' money for 1 plus the box, pouch and documents. That's for very very serious collectors.

When you mount the hood, you should be very gentle because that's the time when you can add some paint scratches to the barrel.

So how does this lens perform?

This was shot handheld when I was kneeling and a bit tipsy. It can be a little bit sharper I believe.

This lens was so good that back in the days, it was used by Sinaron on their cameras. There's actually a Sinaron version of this lens.

It's even rarer, with Sinaron marking on the lens barrel and around the beauty ring plus the Sinar lens cap. Probably it's the same in every aspect with the normal version. I saw on listed for sale a while ago but the seller didn't reply me.

Overall, this is a very beautiful Zuiko.

If you decide to keep only one Zuiko lens which covers some good focal ranges, this is really a very good choice.

Mind you, it can be a bit pricey (around 1000USD for a minty copy) and it's a little bit heavy.

Hope you enjoyed my sharing.

Cheers!


bottom of page